Board of Directors

Carmen Carey

Carmen Carey - CEOCarmen joined the Brady plc board in March 2017. Carmen is an IT industry veteran whose career to date encompasses leadership roles as an executive in fast-growing global VC-backed and publicly traded technology companies. She has been the CEO of Apica, a leader in load testing and synthetic monitoring solutions. Prior to Apica, she scaled and exited two UK headquartered technology companies as CEO, Big Data Partnership to Teradata in 2016 and ControlCircle to Alternative Networks Group in 2014, and was COO of MetaPack, COO of MessageLabs and VP of Global Services at BroadVision.

Ian Jenks

Ian joined the Board on 6 June 2016 as Chairman and was appointed Executive Chairman 1 September 2016. Ian has more than 30 years of Board-level experience in the Communications and Industrial Technology and Software fields, both as an investor and as Chief Executive Officer of companies operating in the US and Europe.


He was until December 2017 the Senior Independent Director of FTSE-listed Paysafe Group PLC and was previously Chairman of Birdstep Technology ASA (publicly listed in Norway).

Ian was formerly a partner of Crescendo Ventures LLP in Palo Alto USA, Chairman of Oplink Communications Incorporated, and President of JDS Uniphase Inc both publicly listed companies on the NASDAQ Exchange.

Ian is an associate member of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers and has a BSc in Aeronautical Engineering from Bristol University. He is also a member of the 30% Club, who aim to develop a diverse pool of talent for all businesses and are committed to better gender balance at all levels of their organisations.

Martin Thorneycroft

Martin joined Brady as Group CFO and Company Secretary in January 2014, bringing with him a diverse experience in finance and financial services technology companies. He is a chartered accountant and has held senior financial positions in both public and private companies based in the UK and the US.


Most recently, Martin spent eight years as Group Finance Director at Patsystems plc, a financial services software group, where he was responsible for all aspects of finance, legal, HR, administration, company secretarial and investor relations across its worldwide operations. Prior to Patsystems, Martin’s experience includes roles at EY, Profile Media Group plc, and McMullen and Sons Limited.

Bob Beveridge

Bob Beveridge

Bob joined the Brady plc Board in August 2013, chairs the Audit Committee and became Remuneration Committee Chairman and Senior Independent Director on 7 October 2016. He is a chartered accountant and has extensive, relevant financial public company board experience and is regarded as independent. He also has considerable experience in business development and mergers and acquisitions


He was Finance Director of three technology companies: Cable & Wireless Communications plc, Fast Search & Transfer, now a Microsoft subsidiary, and Marlborough Stirling plc, which provided information technology to the financial services industry. He is also a Non-Executive Director of Finsbury Food Group plc and Inspiration Healthcare plc.

Dan Look

Dan Look Dan joined the Brady plc Board in March 2019. Dan has approaching 25 years of experience as a consultant in the energy and commodity sectors with a focus on trading and risk management, initially with Accenture before joining Baringa during its founding stage. At Baringa, Dan led the commodity and energy trading consulting group to become the recognised leader in its field, alongside his role as a Senior Partner in the broader global business. Since retiring from Baringa in 2017, Dan has undertaken a variety of board and advisory roles.

Iain Greig

Iain Greig Iain joined the Brady plc Board in March 2019. Iain is an experienced CTO and COO with a track record of delivering large-scale technology and business change programmes and commercial and operational leadership. For over 25 years Iain has specialised in the physical commodities trading and financial services industries, working with global integrated oil companies, entrepreneurial trading organisations, consultancies, global exchanges and clearing houses. As CTO of LME Clear, Iain led the technical build and successful launch of the new clearing house for the London Metal Exchange, going on the run the new business as COO. Most recently, Iain co-founded Ivno – a financial technology startup focused on asset tokenisation and blockchain based payments solutions.

Company Secretary

Rebecca Wright

Rebecca Wright

Rebecca joined Brady to establish the in-house legal department in February 2015.  With a demonstrated history of working in the software industry for both B2B and B2C companies, Rebecca previously served as Legal Counsel at Rosetta Stone for the EMEA businesses. She was responsible for providing legal and compliance advice across multiple jurisdictions, covering various key areas including corporate and commercial, regulatory, intellectual property, company secretarial and data protection.

Rebecca manages the global legal function as Chief Legal Officer for Brady and is skilled in and passionate about providing practical and business-focused advice. She was appointed as Company Secretary in March 2017.

Remuneration Committee

The Remuneration Committee has four members, Ian Grieg (Chair), Bob Beveridge (Member), Ian Jenks (Member) and Rebecca Wright (Invited – Co Sec). The Committee is responsible for setting the remuneration arrangements, including short-term bonus and long-term incentives, for Executive Directors. From March 2019 the Chairman of the Remuneration Committee will be Ian Grieg.

Terms of Reference

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee has five members, Bob Beveridge (Chair), Dan Look (Member), Martin Thorney (Invited), Fabienne Kangayan (Invited) and Rebecca Wright (Invited – Co Sec). The Chief Financial Officer and external auditor attend meetings by invitation. The Audit Committee’s responsibilities include the review of the scope, results and effectiveness of the external audit, the review of half-year and annual accounts, and the review of the Company’s risk management and internal control systems.

Terms of Reference


Nominations Committee

The Nominations Committee has three members, Ian Jenks (Chair), Bob Beveridge (Member) and Rebecca Wright (Invited – Co Sec). The Nominations Committee considers succession planning, reviews the structure, size and composition of the Board and nominates candidates to fill Board vacancies.

Carmen Carey was appointed to the Audit, Nominations and Remuneration committees following her joining the board as Non-Executive Director on 13 March 2017. Ian Jenks was appointed Chair of the Remuneration Committee effective 6 June 2016.

Terms of Reference